3 Blogging Lessons I Learned as a Blog Awards Juror

Canadian Weblog Awards logoAs an avid blogger and marketing student, I was excited to serve as a Canadian Weblog Awards juror. I knew I could be of help and figured I’d pick up a couple of tips along the way. What I didn’t know is how much the judging process would teach me about building an effective blog.

What Are The Canadian Weblog Awards?

The Canadian Weblog Awards (CWA) distinguishes itself by ranking blogs solely on content and design. Votes and popularity don’t count. In fact, to ensure none of the jurors could be influenced, we agreed to keep our appointment a secret until all the rankings had been completed and submitted. If any of us had revealed our role, we would have been removed and our assigned blogs re-evaluated by another juror. This meant each nominated site was ranked by the same ten content and design criteria:

Design:

  • Usability and accessibility
  • Functionality
  • Interactivity
  • Aesthetics

Content:

  • Originality
  • Intelligibility and clarity
  • Currency
  • Transparency and authenticity
  • Attention to detail
  • Engagingness

Quotation from Andrew Sullivan likening blogging to extreme sports.Being a new visitor to most of my assigned blogs, I experienced the impact of each of the ten design and content elements first hand. After I’d completed a dozen or so, I began to wonder about my own blog. A quick time out to view it with fresh eyes showed me a few things I could improve. By the time I’d reviewed some forty different blogs, I had a totally new understanding of how blogs create value and a solid plan to up my game.

Lesson #1: Make It About Them

I counsel job seekers to see their resume through a new lens; one that recognizes that the resume is not about the candidate, it’s about the prospective employer. I’m not kidding. If you want an interview, you need your resume to be seen as a solution to the prospective employer’s problem. Same thing with a blog post. Unless you’re writing a personal journal, your blog should be focused on issues that are relevant to your intended audience. What do they care about? What do they want more of? Can you help them get the information and the solutions they’re looking for?

Lesson #2: Make It Easy

We bloggers have way more digital savvy than the average online reader. We’re also more forgiving when stray HTML produces unexpected formatting or wonky pages. Make it easy for followers by critically assessing pages for readability and function. Is the comment button prominent? You can turn off a new reader in a nano second by making it hard for them to navigate the site or submit a comment.

Lesson #3: Make It Real

"The currency of blogging is authenticity and trust." Jason CalacanisPeople read blogs to connect with real people. They come to learn or laugh or get new ideas. They’re not expecting to be sold to or marketed. They’re also not expecting a cardboard version of reality with no personality or passion. I used to sanitize my articles so as not to turn anyone off — I stopped that a few years ago and gained many readers as a result. For some good examples, check out what these top bloggers are writing about:

I thoroughly enjoyed my involvement and recommend it to anyone with an appreciation for blogging or writing. If serving as a juror isn’t your thing, perhaps you’d like to nominate a Canadian blogger for this year’s award. At the very least, check out Elan Morgan’s TEDtalk. She’s the amazing founder of the Canadian Weblog Awards.


9 comments

  1. We stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I may as well check
    things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you.
    Look forward to exploring your web page again.

    Like

  2. Hello Susan,

    Thank you for sharing your insights as a CWBA juror. I was fortunate enough to be included in the process as a nominee and really appreciated all the effort everyone put into the event.

    Cheers,
    Isaac from ekostories.com

    Like

    1. Hi Isaac,

      Thanks so much for stopping by. I hope the CWBA experience was positive for you. Your blog is gorgeous. I just popped over to enjoy your piece on Albertus Gorman.

      Come back again sometime.
      Susan

      Like

  3. Thank you so much for writing about the Awards! I love that got so much from being a juror.

    Like

    1. Hi Elan -
      It’s quite an event you’ve created. Thanks for stopping by and for taking the time to leave a comment.

      Like

  4. Thanks, Susan, for the concise list and interesting post. I very much appreciate the way you’ve reframed the resume. If you would ever feel like offering feedback about my blog – bring it on!

    Like

    1. Hi Jamie — I’m glad you thought this was useful. I’ll be happy to hop over to your blog this weekend and give you my opinion. Hope you’re doing well and not seeing too much of the white stuff?

      Like

      1. Thanks, Susan! We’ve had more than our usual share but I kind of like it.

        Like

        1. Hi Jamie, your blog is beautiful. It’s well set up, the content is relevant and helpful, and there are no annoying pop ups with flaming messages insisting readers sign up for a newsletter. I have recommended your blog to others and will happily continue to do so.

          Here is the link for my readers: http://sowhatwouldyousay.wordpress.com/

          Like

Comments are welcome. Please feel free to include a link to your latest blog post when you leave a comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 240 other followers

