Life After Cookies

LifeAfterCookiesA few months back, I wrote an article announcing hubby and I were changing the way we eat as we had discovered there was a little too much of us hanging around. Four months have passed and I’ve lost just over 30 pounds. My old self is back — which is to say, I’m full of ideas and walking with a spring in my step. I say ‘old self’ because I’d been carrying around that extra weight for at least five years. I learned a few life lessons along the way. Nothing earth shattering, but definitely worth sharing.

Occasional checkpoints are the only way to ensure you’re not drifting onto the wrong path.
I had stopped weighing myself years ago — which, I guess, is the human version of the cat that hides his head in the mistaken belief that we can’t see the rest of him sticking out from his hiding place. You would never stop measuring your progress against career objectives or fail to mark a milestone in your kid’s development — why would we not want to set and measure health goals?

Turns out, patience really is a virtue.
Whatever you have a mind to change, making many tiny adjustments over time is better than attempting a valiant, impressive effort. Minor changes give you ample opportunity to celebrate wins and are more sustainable over the long haul.

Taking care of a weight problem is the ultimate in self kindness and self care.
I’m reminded of the airline safety message: Be sure to don your own oxygen mask before assisting others. This is counter-intuitive for many, especially women. Here’s the rub — by putting others first, we may be limiting what we’re able to do for them. If this is a topic you’d like to explore, I recommend you spend some time with Suzie Cheel’s teachings. Even though we’ve never met in person, I can tell you that she is one of the most loving, encouraging people I know.

I still let myself have a treat now and then — which usually means a cookie. The difference is now I’m more intentional with my calories and nutrition.

Icon credit: ArtDesigner.lv

Are we connected on Twitter?

Snapshot of Susan Wright-Boucher's Twitter profile pic

Click to follow me on Twitter


12 comments

  1. Dear Susan

    Thanks for sharing what you learnt during your success! You and your husband have done a great job to keep consistently at the task and lose all the weight :) fab news yay! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey – Thanks for the encouragement! It’s so much easier to do with a partner.

      Like

  2. Love this, especially the title and congrats that is one massive success, So right about patience and slow and steady so important, Thank you so much for the reference and maybe it is time we did meet- your comments always make my heart sing, Sending you a big virtual hug. xxoo

    My latest post:http://suziecheel.com/have-you-shared-your-soul-story-with-the-world/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Suzie – Glad you liked the reference. I like to spread the credit around – - none of us really does anything 100% on our own.

      Like

  3. Susan, Thanks for sharing your inspiring story. I’m encouraged by your reminder that slow, steady progress in changing daily habits is the way to realize results. Thank you! Martine http://www.martinejoseph.com/2014/02/22/40-day-challenge-day-36-play-with-abundance/

    Like

    1. Hi Martine, thanks. I’m glad that came through loud and clear. I think we derail ourselves with grandiose plans when tiny adjustments would work wonders.

      Like

  4. kimdalferes · · Reply

    Thirty pounds – wow! Like you I had been avoiding the scale. But, last year I “stepped up” and made a few changes (weekly weigh-ins are back on my to-do list). I haven’t lost 30, but I’m down ten. Thanks for the encouragement! And I’m a big Suzie Cheel fan too.

    Like

    1. Hi Kim – Congrats on your decision to make those changes. It’s good for us to take care of ourselves. Thanks for taking the time to a comment here.

      Like

  5. Susan … Love the title … Love your message! Well done! I’ll be following you to read more!

    Like

    1. Hi Maria – I’m so glad you want to come back! Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment.

      Like

  6. And I bet you eat that cookie more mindfully too! Congratulations on your accomplishment!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jamie – Thank you. And yes, you’re absolutely right.

      Like

Comments are welcome. Please feel free to include a link to your latest blog post when you leave a comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 240 other followers

