I love email and I’m a fast typist. This was bad news for people in my network — before I clued in. If you use Outlook, I’ve got a tip that will reduce email messages, keep your communications moving forward quickly and reduce meeting time.

Outlook contains a little-used feature called the task list. What makes this so useful is the ability to categorize tasks into user defined buckets. To cut down on email messages I created a category called “agenda” and filed one task for each of my direct reports in this category. When any of them call me or when we are together, I simply call up the task on my laptop or Blackberry and we simply go through all my items. This feature syncs beautifully on Blackberries. Just set your filter to the appropriate category and they will be easy to find.

 

One thought on “Managing Communications

Comments are always welcome.

