Jacques Cousteau, and the television show that captured his underwater adventures, had a tremendous impact on my career.

I can see his face as he clambers back onto the deck of the Calypso having just emerged from a cloud of stinging jellyfish.  Instead of being horrified at the red welts forming on his skin, he had glee written all over his face.  He was doing what he loved.

He continued his studies and managed his career with enthusiasm until his death at the age of 87.  This taught me that as long as I found my passion and retained a love of learning and curiosity, my career could be lifelong and extremely rewarding.

What a great lesson on the importance of passion and intentional direction.

Recommended reading:
Comments are always welcome.

