Tempted to become a blogger?  It’s easier than you might think.  Here are 5 steps to get you started.

1. Decide whether your blog will be personal, career based, or corporate.  Who are you writing for?  Your blog can be as public or as private as you wish – your desired readership will determine the content and perhaps even the appearance.

2. Choose a platform.  I love WordPress.  Start up is a breeze, it’s easy to maintain, you can post by email or by phone (yes, by phone!) and it’s totally free unless you want to own your own domain.

3. Write a charter.  This is where you record the purpose and goals of the blog.  The charter will keep your topics consistent and focused.  Your readers will appreciate this and you will spend less time trying to decide what to write next.

4. Make a publishing schedule and stick to it.  The best blogs publish about 3 times per week.  Go for frequency rather than length.  I like posts that are around 250 words.  This will force you to develop 2 awesome habits: brevity and clarity.

5.  Look for writing opportunities within your company, among your circle of friends, and as a guest blogger on others’ sites.  Is there a corporate blog you could contribute to?  Are they looking for volunteers for the corporate Twitter site?  Twitter is, after all, micro-blogging.  This will help round out your composition and creative skills and will expose you to a different group of readers.

Need Help With Your New Blog?

Bloggers are generous people.  Here are some of my favourite sites that will help you get started:

Happy blogging!  Send me a comment on this post and I’ll check out your blog.

2 thoughts on “Releasing The Blogger Within

  1. Excellent tips! I had just been thinking, I haven’t posted on my blog for a few days–but now I bet I can still make the 3-times-a-week mark!

    So far I’m mostly writing to get my own thoughts out about things that personally mean a lot to me. I’ve got a niche (the charter is in my head), yet sometimes I don’t have time or I don’t have anything pertinent to say. I don’t want to write just for the sake of writing, though sometimes it’s tempting just to unload.

    Whatever my blog experience turns out to be, I believe it will make me into a more focused writer.

    Like

    1. Hi Becky,

      I love your comments. I also think there’s another aspect to your blog that you didn’t mention — Paying it forward. Bloggers are generous people. They want to share. I looked at your blog and I see a lot of value in the topics you’re highlighting. Thanks for putting your posts out there!

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

