Corporate Social Media – Are You In?

3d people partner.
Image by 姒儿喵喵 via Flickr

Someone said to me a couple of years ago they thought Twitter was a fad that would soon be forgotten.  Fast forward to 2010 and Twitter has surpassed 100,000,000 users… (see chart below).

This past weekend I was playing around on Facebook when I saw someone make a reference to Ocean State Job Lot.  Not knowing what it was, I searched the name on Facebook and found their page.  A post complaining about a store manager’s decision caught my eye when I saw that 7 minutes after the consumer complaint was posted the company replied with a direct telephone number and a promise to rectify the situation.  Next I saw a consumer requesting a deal – he suggested they have a 2-for-1 sale on the area rugs that had just arrived.  Again the company responded quickly — they thanked the consumer and said they would add his suggestion to the idea pot.  Wow.  I want to shop in this store.  Anyone out there think social media is a waste of their corporate resources?

Social Media Growth from 2006 to 2010 | D. Steven White.

Comments are always welcome.

