Sleep Deprivation Oneupmanship

When did sleep become a sign of weakness – or lack of sleep become a badge of honor?  The next time someone brags about how long they’ve been functioning on only 4 hours of sleep per night I won’t be impressed.

I admit that in the past I have made derogatory comments about the need for sleep.  That was before I learned that sleep deprivation has been connected to high blood pressure, obesity, diabetes and mortality.  Yeesh.  If you’re in doubt at all, check this out.

Even Martha Stewart, a well known insomniac, has some sleep advice for us in this short video.

And from the literary world:

It is a common experience that a problem difficult at night is resolved in the morning after the committee of sleep has worked on it. ~John Steinbeck

So for all those who marvel at my ability to dial in to 5:00 a.m. meetings – think of me at 8:00 p.m.  I’m probably already in bed.  You can’t be a high octane performer without the proper fuel.  I hope you enjoy the TED video below.

One Reply to “Sleep Deprivation Oneupmanship”

Comments are always welcome.

