This post is dedicated to those who think the only thing people do on Twitter is report what kind of sandwich they had for lunch.  Instead of pulling out my hair every time I hear this line, I decided to showcase what you’re missing.  It’s way more polite and I’m too vain to go through life with random bald patches.

Connections with lifelong learners

Meeting these people is the reason I participate.  Sometimes their tweets contain a link to online material – sometimes they’re just a short, provocative thought designed to get the mind turning.  They enlarge my perspective and introduce me to other great thinkers and learners.  Here is a sample:

http://twitter.com/#!/_robin_sharma/status/33857748068208640


Accessing help from the Twitter community

Everyone needs assistance as some time.  Are you looking for a job?  Do you need help finding an apartment in a certain neighborhood?  Have you just received a medical diagnosis and wonder what community support might be available?  Tweeps (Twitter people) are tireless sharers.

http://twitter.com/#!/Truthonhealth/status/99121130744451073


Building your business

If you’re in business and you’re not using Twitter to listen to your user community and engage in two-way conversations, shame on you.  That’s like discarding customer demographics data because you don’t like the way the text is formatted.  I’m not talking about using Twitter to post ads. The opportunity Twitter affords is that of building a community around your brand.  Where else do you get the chance to overhear people discussing their experience with your product or service? Below is a tweet from ING’s CEO, Peter Aceto. I admire the way he regularly engages with his community by listening to them.

http://twitter.com/#!/CEO_INGDIRECT/status/97406396152283136


So there you have it: my totally biased view of Twitter as a valuable tool.  If you’re looking for me on Twitter, I’m @SWrightBoucher.

2 thoughts on “3 Things You’re Missing on Twitter

  1. Hi, Susan, I agree with you on all three points. Twitter can be quite valuable once you learn how to use it efficiently, i.e. being selective in those you follow and using tools to manage personal and professional streams. Discerning who offers what takes a while; masses of followers aren’t a reliable indicator. I’ve found real gems from those less followed. I love being able to share/retweet content I’ve found helpful with others. And there’s been a side benefit–with its 140-character limitation, Twitter has forced me to be more concise!

    Like

Comments are always welcome.

