IGQuoteEducationYeatsSunset

I’ve rounded up 7 blogs that inspire, teach, or entertain. They’re all high quality and selected from sites I spent time on.

I’d like to give special mention to the first one in the list below: OneStory. If you only click one link in this article, make it theirs. Everyone has a story to tell — this one will help you capture yours and share it. In case you’re wondering, I’m not affiliated in any way. 🙂

Favourite Bloggers and Vloggers This Week

  • OneStory.com – This one is all about you and sooo worthy of a look. Actually, it’s a Vlog (video log) rather than a Blog (web log) — OneStory is an app that captures stories about people and places that may have otherwise been lost. In the words of its founders, Katrina German and Dale Zak: OneStory is a guided interview process that automatically stitches video clips together into a beautiful documentary that can be easily shared online. Here’s a funny one that captures the unusual events surrounding Dale’s birth. Who doesn’t have a family member or a friend with a story to tell?
  • Rebecca Coleman’s blog on marketing and media relations will keep you up to date and motivated. If you’re a blogger, you’ll want to know that she’s doing a series on monetizing your work. She’s donating her time and experience at no charge. Thanks, Rebecca!
  • Brass Tack Thinking is Amber Naslund’s baby. You may know Amber by her Twitter handle @AmberCadabra, a name she said someone gave her years ago that just stuck. She taught one of the courses in the social media bootcamp I attended this week. I recommend her blog for its social business tips and tricks but what really grabbed me this week is a recent post called Meet Hope. It’s an incredible story about a dog rescue that has taken over her life for the next little while. You must read it.
  • Jamie Sussel Turner – A skilled business and personal power coach, Jamie knows we learn better through stories. This post is no exception. Read Unexpected Inspiration: Hassan’s Gift and tell me you’re not moved to appreciate your wonderful life.
  • Sell, Lead, Succeed! by Tim Mushey – I’ve been reading Tim’s work since early 2012. Most of his posts are on business, branding, or achievement. What I particularly look forward to are his Saturday music posts which are a complete departure. Today’s is Pearl Jam.
  • Kikolani – This is Kristi Hines’ site for blogging and marketing tips. I first “met” Kristi through Social Media Examiner, where she’s a regular contributor. I especially appreciate her use of metrics and analytics – as demonstrated in this post: What Happened After I Closed Guest Post Submissions.
  • Kieta Lynn Wheeler – Her blog photo says it all. Kieta is wearing a crazy hat and sticking her tongue out at us. I appreciate Kieta’s candour as she muses about life, people, and generally pulls herself into who she wants to be. I especially enjoyed Take Chances. Get Messy. Make Mistakes. Worth a read.

In case you missed it, here is a link to last week’s blog appreciation.

If you enjoyed this article, please share!

14 thoughts on “7 Blogs For 7 Days

  1. Reblogged this on Sell, Lead, Succeed! and commented:
    Susan Wright-Boucher and I have been following each other’s content and corresponding for quite some time now. She is a fellow Canadian and has a very cool blog. She recently did a post titled “7 Blogs For 7 Days”. I was lucky enough to be one of the blogs featured on this fantastic post! Stop by and check it out when you have a sec…

    Like

  2. Hi Susan,
    This is a great idea that you have implemented and love the post form Kristi – thanks for sharing Jamie’s blog what an inspirational story. Now I could get lost here all day too 🙂 Thanks

    Like

  3. Susan, I am so flattered to have been included in this post. Thanks so much for the eggs! 😉 I love this idea for a post and I’m in the middle of looking over the other blogs both this week and last’s. Such a great way of sharing the bloggy awesomeness out there. Thanks again for mentioning me and sharing the others. I have a lot of reading ahead of me. #fun!

    Like

      1. Thanks Susan.. I really appreciate your support and kind words. I have connected with some more awesome people thanks to your blog post. Fantastic. Enjoy the rest of your weekend…

        Like

  4. Wow, thanks, Susan, for the recognition and link to my blog! What a great idea for a post…and maybe one I’ll borrow. I look forward to checking out the other blogs you’ve highlighted. And, as you already know, I’m one of your fans.

    Like

    1. Hi Jamie – I was going over some media training material from a couple of years ago and came across the section where we talked about collecting stories as a powerful communication tool. Right after that, I read the post you wrote about Hassan. It struck me how often you use stories and I wanted to appreciate that in my post.

      Like

      1. Stories have always helped me to hold onto learning and I guess I gravitate to them in my writing. By the way, wanted to mention that I’m married to a Canadian and we met in Vancouver!!!

        Like

Comments are always welcome.

