Are You Brave Enough To Celebrate Mistakes?

DontDoItWrongThis is for all of us who outwardly say that making mistakes is a good thing while inwardly hoping to never make one. You don’t have to be a perfectionist to fit in this category; most of us qualify simply by being human. After all, you can’t reverse decades of admonitions and warnings about avoiding mistakes without doing a little brain rewiring.

Take 4 minutes to watch this video. I can almost guarantee that your awareness of your own anti-mistake messages will shift.

Just to clinch it, here is a collection of quotes on the value of making mistakes.

The man who makes no mistakes does not usually make anything. ~ Edward J. Phelps

We learn wisdom from failure much more than from success; we often discover what will do, by finding out what will not do; and probably he who never made a mistake never made a discovery. ~ Samuel Smiles

If you’re not making mistakes, then you’re not doing anything. I’m positive that a doer makes mistakes. ~ John Wooden

The greatest mistake you can make in life is to be continually fearing you will make one.  ~ Elbert Hubbard


Are you on Facebook? Join the conversation on Plugged In Recruiter’s page.


4 Replies to “Are You Brave Enough To Celebrate Mistakes?”

  1. Hi Susan,

    I really love the topic of this post, the video, and the quotes you provided! The biggest insight I gained is the thought reframe about *choosing* to make more mistakes as a way to be more curious in exploring the world and less afraid. I love the idea of beginning each day with the intention of making a mistake. I will I will add that to my routine and finish each day happily picking out at least one mistake I made!

    ~Christina

    Like

  2. Awesome post and video Susan. It’s very touching to hear stories that involves our children and how we project our own demands on them. I like my house neat and clean and I tend to always get on my kids back to be just as neat as me. I want things done a certain way…that’s what this story brought up for me. I am now looking for a way to meet in the middle. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

    1. Hi Nathalie – Isn’t it great when we take something in and are able to use it to reshape the way we’re showing up? This kind of material is what initially attracted me to social media. There’s so much wisdom out there, we just have to reach out with an open mind. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

