Recently, I had two outstanding experiences as a brand new client. I was so impressed by these companies, I wanted to share the creative methods they used to welcome me and get our relationship off to a strong start.

Bringing a new client on board is a lot like the early stages of dating; there’s a spark of likability but there’s no real commitment yet. You’re hopeful that this is the beginning of a long term relationship and want to do everything possible to make it work.

Take a look at this welcome email from ShortStack. How would it make you feel to receive this?

WelcomeToShortStack

Notice how warm the photo is? I instantly felt that I had joined a group of caring people.

Buffer took a different approach. No photo, but every bit as warm. Read just the first paragraph and you’ll see what I mean.

WelcomeToBuffer

The wording in this email makes me feel like I could reach out anytime I like to ask questions or just to say hello.

It’s so easy to have misunderstandings when the client relationship is new and just getting off the ground. Starting strong and with warmth will go a long way to overcoming glitches or problems. Delight a brand new client and you may keep them for life.

What could you do to welcome new clients?


If this is your first time on my website, or your fiftieth, I thank you for stopping by. You’re welcome to connect with me on Facebook, LinkedIn or Twitter.

Make it a great day.

3 thoughts on “How To Delight A Brand New Client

Comments are always welcome.

