An Abundance Of Us

Drink coffee. Read books. Be happy.

Hubby and I have been talking about abundance lately. Not in the usual ask-the-universe-to-provide-what-you-want sense; it’s more along the lines of ‘how did all this extra weight get attached to my body?’ We have an abundance of us.

So we’re dieting.

And it’s Thanksgiving tomorrow.

Our hearts sank when we looked up the calorie count for pumpkin pie. Don’t ask me what the number is. It’s something on the order of one gazillion per small slice. Will we indulge? Maybe. Ask me tomorrow. For now we’re simply amazed at how uninformed we’ve been. Possibly because it’s physically impossible to Google nutritional information with your hand inside a bag of cookies.

Last night I went to bed feeling hungry – which revealed to me the depths of my psychological aversion to going to bed hungry. It brought up all kinds of stories about children not having enough food. Hey, isn’t that how our mothers got us to finish the food on our plates? I seem to remember something about starving kids in Africa who would kill themselves for the peas I was refusing to eat. Excellent! Another adult problem we can blame on our mothers. (Kidding, Mom.)

How did I get on that topic?

Oh yeah. Hunger. Before you start thinking we’re dieting by skipping meals and going hungry — we’re not. We’re eating healthy food three times a day. What we’ve given up is blindly and unintentionally overeating. Which brings me back to bedtime. Eating in the evening is a habit. Actually, a lot of my eating was habitual. Tough problem? Eat a cookie. Bored? Go out for ice cream. Bedtime? Have a snack. Yikes. Talk about a first-world problem.

I estimate we each have about ten pounds to lose. I have no idea how long it will take us. We don’t have a scale and I don’t want one. This has to be about creating new habits that make us feel healthy.

So here I am on a Sunday morning, the day before Thanksgiving. I have beside me a pile of books waiting to be read, a supply of fresh coffee, and a comfortable home in which to enjoy the things I love. I’m thankful. A little plump maybe, but thankful.

9 Replies to “An Abundance Of Us”

  1. Love the Pic. I think the biggest challenge is just getting started. 4 years going strong vegetarian here and I thought it would be impossible at first. Now I can’t imagine going back. I was having horrible fatigue I was prescribed a CPAP at age 24. Havent used it in 3 years! I feel great and have more energy. I think the key is just finding what works for you and sticking with it those first months.

    Like

    1. Hi there,
      Thanks for the encouragement. Sounds like you’re lucky to have found the right diet. We’re 1 week in and both of us are feeling better but I think we’re just at the beginning of finding what will work best for us.

      I appreciate your visit and that you took the time to comment. Thanks

      Like

  2. I’ve been doing Paleo since October 1. It’s been a challenge, especially when I go to the grocery store, but, I’m doing ok. Without bread, sugar, rice and potatoes, I’m hoping to lose 8-10lbs by the end of the month, plus, I do the occasional Zumba to burn calories.

    Like

Comments are always welcome.

