When we do what we love and love what we do, it’s magic. Not only for us, but for those who encounter our work. It creates a magnetic situation; one that others will go out of their way to be a part of.

That is exactly what’s happening with Pharrell Williams’ song called Happy. People all over the world are responding to his work by creating their own videos to his music. It speaks to them. They want to be part of it.

Even if you’ve seen dozens of renditions of Pharrell’s Happy and have had it up to here, I recommend you watch this particular video for the sheer glee it contains. If there were an award for the best, happiest, most joyful video, this one would be in first place. I defy you to watch this and then say you’re not uplifted.

Happy–The Phenomenon

This phenomenon is no accident. It’s what happens when you do what you love, and love what you do. Here’s a short snippet of Pharrell Williams, the artist behind Happy, telling Oprah Winfrey how he came to write and produce the song. It’s less than three minutes long.

A couple of things really stand out for me. First is how appreciative Pharrell Williams is. Second, as corny as it sounds, he put his heart into the project and now he’s basking in the positive energy that’s coming back to him.

I want that!

Do you want that, too?

Steve Farber quote: Do what you love in the service of people who love what you do.There’s only one person on this planet who can make it happen for use — and that’s us. We can do this. You can do this. So find a quiet spot, pick one or two questions from this list, and let the dreaming begin.

  • The last time I got totally lost in my work, what was I doing?
  • If I were able to get the right training, I’d love to be a _____________.
  • If only I had more time, I’d ___________________.
  • The best job I ever had was ______________. I loved it because _____________.
  • What do people say I’m great at?

I’d love to hear what’s working for you and what you’re trying out these days. Leave a comment here or reach out on your favourite social site.


Comments are always welcome.

